About ISEE

Current Position : Home About ISEE Overview

The College of Information Science and Electronic Engineering (ISEE) stemmed from the Telecom Group at Electrical Engineering Department in the early 30s of the last century. National department adjustments took place in 1952 with disciplines settled, and undergraduate majors of radio communication and broadcasting merged into other universities in August 1953.  Radio Engineering Department was started to be rebuilt in 1956, and the radio electronics was established in the Electrical Engineering Department. Electrical engineering students were drafted to form Radio Electronics Class 54 and 56. In 1957, the radio electronics began accepting students from the whole nation, at the same time, vacuum devices, semiconductor devices and materials were started up. The Electrical Engineering Department was renamed Electrical and Radio Engineering Department. All disciplines began accepting students from the whole nation in 1958. In 1960, three disciplines, radio, electric vacuum and semiconductor, were separated from the Electrical Engineering Department, and thus, the Radio Electronic Engineering Department was formally established.


In 1963, the department moved to the Six-Harmony Pagoda Campus. All the staff and students kept on struggling together to work diligently regardless of the difficulties, thus the teaching scale and discipline structure had made a remarkable development. In 1972, the discipline, computer science, was prepared to be established, and in 1973, the enrollment of computer science major was available. In 1978, computer science was separated from Radio Electronic Engineering Department to build Computer Science Department. Semiconductor research group and other relevant material group in Zhejiang University were organized together to found the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. In the same year, the Radio Electronic Engineering Department began to enroll Master Degree candidates.


In 1986, the department changed its name to Information Science and Electronic Engineering (ISEE), and doctoral students could enroll in the same year. In 1995, High-Tech Building (ISEE Building) in Yuquan Campus was completed, and ISEE moved back to Yuquan campus as a whole.


After four universities united in 1998, in 1999, ISEE and the Electronic Engineering Department of Hangzhou University united to be the new ISEE Department, belong to the College of Information Science and Engineering, Zhejiang University. In 2009, the university carried out department reforms, and the ISEE became college-level department under Faculty of Information Technology.


For half a century, all the staff and students in ISEE carry forward the fine tradition of truth seeking and innovation, teaching quality and research level were continuously improved, and more than 10,000 senior technical talents got trained.


ISEE covers the areas of communication and networks, signal processing, physics electronics, circuits and systems, microelectronics and optoelectronics, electromagnetics and photonics, etc.


ISEE has the Research Institutes of Information and Communication Engineering, Electronic Information Technology and Systems, Microelectronics and Optoelectronics, and Electronic Circuit and Information System, and ISEE gets ZJU Research Center for Microsatellite, Zhejiang Key Laboratory of Integrated Information Network, Electromagnetics Academy at Zhejiang University, Center for Data Science and Engineering, and Center for RF and Nano systems. ISEE also has the National Integrated Circuit Training Base, ISEE Experimental Teaching Center, and ZJU Practice Base for Electronic Engineering.


In June 2015, the School of Microelectronics was established, and was run by the College of Information Science and Electronic Engineering.


ISEE now has 168 faculty and staff, including 53 professors and 62 associate professors. Among them, there are 1 academician in the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), 8 National Distinguished Professors (National "Thousand Talents" Plan), 1 Foreign Expert (Thousand Talents Plan for Foreign Experts), 3 Yangtze Chair Professors, 1 Chang-Jiang Scholar Distinguished Professor, 3 Qiushi Scholar Distinguished Professors.


ISEE pays great attention to cooperation with local areas, relevant government departments, large and medium enterprises, and has established a sound scientific and technological cooperation with them. ISEE also recognize the value of creating innovative international programs, developing research collaborations, enhancing mobility, capacity building and leveraging new funding streams.